Tags

, ,

Fire up the DVR!  Fall TV is about to begin!

There doesn’t seem to be as many new shows this fall compared to last fall; or at least not as many that I am interested in.  Then I previewed 5 shows; and of those only my number one interest lived to see a season 2.   Did I jinx them?  Maybe I should steer clear of endorsing 5 more?  Eh, well.  You’ll notice 4 of the 5 are comedies – this is out of the ordinary for me, but all the new dramas feel like rehashes (medical dramas, lawyer dramas, vampire dramas) and the comedies at least seem partially fresh.  Here they are, my top 5 most anticipated new fall tv shows:

#5.  Community, on NBC.  Premiere: Thursday, September 16, 8:30 p.m.community_cast_gallery_primary

Chevy Chase.  The guy from E Soup.  Great recipe so far.  Community refers to a Community college where a failed lawyer starts his own study group to get closer to a girl.  The characters seem quirky enough, I hope the dialogue holds up to the quirk of the characters, and gives those actors some meat to work with.  The featurette below has some funny moments, but I am afraid it is one of those cases of showing the only funny moments in the show’s pilot.   I’m definitely giving it a shot, if only because of Clark Griswold.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

#4. Cougar Town, on ABC. Premiere: Wednesday, September 22, 8:30 p.m.cougartown

A divorcee, single mother trying to date post-40 and post-divorce.  I’m giving it a shot because it stars Courtney Cox Arquette, and the double pun of the title is clever and makes me laugh.   Plus the executive producer is the guy that created Scrubs.

#3. Glee, on FOX. Premiere: Wednesday, September 8, 8:00 p.m.glee

The pilot episode of this comedy musical aired in the spring, you can watch it at FOX. Glee follows a Spanish teacher who’s dream it is to revive the failing Glee Club (aka show choir).  Set in high school, of course, there are LOTS of characters, both adults and students. The first 15 minutes were hilarious.  The next 25 minutes were spent developing the characters and establishing the plot of the show, as pilots usually do.  The last 5 minutes were touching, bordering on cheese … okay, cheesy gushiness definitely took place.  But I could get sucked right in, and I think (sorry, Glee if I’m jinxing you!)  that this one will most assuredly see a season 2.  One cast member describes Glee as “High School Musical getting punched in the stomach and it’s lunch money stolen”.    I hope to see from the future episodes what I saw in the first 15 minutes and the last 5.

#2.  Modern Family, on ABC. Premiere: Wednesday, September 23 at 8:00 p.m.modern_family_abc

This looks absolutely hysterical.  All the promos I watched were great (one below for your approval).  Mostly actors unknown to me, Modern Family follows 3 parts of a larger family that are each different – the mom, dad, and three kids; the gay couple who adopt; and the older father who remarried a much younger latina woman.  Not sure if it will be documentary style, a la The Office, but the promos make it appear that way.  Watch and laugh!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

And the number one most-anticipated-by-Mary-new-fall-tv-show is…

#1. FlashForward, on ABC. Premiere: Thursday, September 23 at 7:00 p.m. Flash Forward ABC TV show image (4)

There is one simple reason this is my number one.  It is my desperate hope that FlashForward will be my LOST replacement.  I try not to think about a LOST-less universe.  But it will happen.  There are only 17 episodes left.   In contemplating a tv world without LOST (after my palms stop sweating), I can trust that my obsessive nature will turn to another show.  Will there be one that has a shot?  FlashForward has promise.  Here’s why:

There are fake websites dedicated to it.
The viral advertising reminds me of LOST and the way I get excited about it.
It has lots of mystery and character connections.
And it has Penelope and Charlie.

The premise is intriguing; see for yourself:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Honorable Mention:   V, ABC.  Premiere: early November.

This also looks intriguing, but doesn’t air until November.  I probably wouldn’t have even noticed it, but it got attention via LOST news because it stars Elizabeth Mitchell (Juliet).  V is sci fi – Aliens, or Visitors come to the planet and make friendly contact.  Mitchell is an FBI agent who is suspicious of the seemingly friendly aliens.  Looks to be a remake of a 1984 series of the same name.  The promo makes it look exciting, of course.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I’ve got great hope for these shows (especially my LOST replacement -don’t let me down, ABC!), but not getting my hopes too high – TV can be cruel – I loved Kath and Kim, and thought My Own Worst Enemy had great promise; but they were snatched away from me.

Either way, clear out the DVRs and bring on the new fall tv.  Good luck fave 5!

